Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws and rules are framed by a country so as to impose a form of decency and goodwill among it's citizens. Breaking a law or commuting a crime can lead to a punishment based on the various facts that support the crime. Laws should be flexible enough to take into account, various circumstances, times and places. I disagree with such a statement since laws have been made so as to preserve the integrity of a nation. Bending them to suit our needs would lead to the true purpose of the laws getting lost into oblivion. The reasoning behind my position as well as the evidences to back my claim will be explained in the paragraphs below.

As explained in the earlier paragraph, modifying the laws according to various circumstances, times or places could lead to the acquittal of a true criminal. In today's world, defense lawyers bring about several situations and personas to justify that their client has done nothing wrong. Their sole purpose is to find a way to undo the laws so that they can mold them according to their needs. This is not what a citizen of a nation would want. Such flexibility would ultimately lead to the acquittal of every guilty individual on the grounds of circumstances, times and places. No individual wants to walk down a road in the fear that the person approaching him could be a murderer. Laws have been made to lock such morbid individuals behind bars and therefore concession on the grounds of circumstance, time or place should be forbidden.

Moreover, the laws that are in place take into consideration, the necessary circumstances, times or places. For example, in a possible case of murder, the accused is deemed of commuting a first degree murder, second degree murder or manslaughter. All of these offences take into account the intent and the circumstance behind such a crime. On top of that, the punishment for a crime is decided after thorough deliberation between the lawyers of both sides and the judge himself. Thus, further flexibility with respect to the laws, in my opinion is not deemed to be necessary.

Proponents of the above statement would claim that instances such as murder are sometimes committed as a result of misunderstanding or due to a mistake. Hence, laws should be flexible enough to acquit such individuals of crime. If the murder committed was actually an accident, and if there are evidences to back such a claim, then the person should be rest assured that he will be cleared of all charges against his name. On the contrary, if a person seems to have committed a sinful crime and the evidence back such an incident, even if it was a mistake, does not deserve a full pardon. Punishing the accused would rather serve as a reminder that sinful acts like a murder do not have any place in the society and one should refrain from indulging in such unlawful activities.

In sum, I still stand against the claim that laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places. If such a method of law is adopted, it would not take long before the nation will loose trust upon the laws that were actually put in place to protect them from miscreants.