Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above argument suggests that in order to aid its students to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors. The evidences provided in the passage seems to support the claim that it be a better choice to terminate the student evaluation of professors. These evidences look satisfactory and seem to support the conclusion. But a closer look unearths unsaid assumptions that could weaken the overall conclusion.

Firstly, a comparison has been made between Omega University and Alpha University. The comparison states that the students at Alpha University secure better jobs than Omega University. The passage suggests that it is due to the student evaluation of teacher that has led to such a situation. The author of the passage fails to take into consideration, the other aspects which might have led to companies going to Alpha University and hiring students from there. It is possible that Alpha university does a better job of approaching potential companies that would hire their students. Moreover, it can be the case that Alpha University compels these students to go through rigorous rounds of mock interviews that helps them better prepare for the crucial day, something that Omega University fails to do. This could mean that blaming the student evaluation of teacher for the failure of students securing good jobs is unjust.

Secondly, it is stated in the passage that potential employers infer from the inflated grades that the students studying at Omega University are not actually good enough. The author states that the increase in grades over the last fifteen years are the effects of the student evaluation of teacher initiative. The author fails to express other possible reasoning for the potential employers to dis-regard Omega University when it comes to their hiring process. It is possible that over the last few years the quality of education has declined at Omega University which inhibits potential employers to approach the students studying here. Perhaps, the courses taught at Omega University are not in-line with the courses that potential employers expect the students to study. That could prove the supposed ignorance towards Omega University.

Lastly, the trend that the author points out regarding the increase in grades of students studying at Omega University as a result of student evaluation of teacher is based upon unstated assumptions. Such a trend could also be co-incidental and nothing to do with the initiative started by Omega University. It could be possible that the students actually perform well and rightfully achieve their grades. It can be true that since students have started evaluation of their teachers' pedantic abilities. Teachers with bad scores are replaced with good ones, which has led to an increase in the grades of the students. This would suggest that student evaluation of teacher initiative is actually a good program.

In sum, the author has shown a connection between the week employment at Omega University to the student evaluation of teacher program that is based upon unwarranted and unstated assumptions. It is thus possible that such fallacious evidences and reasoning could weaken the author' conclusion.