To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The statement provided, states that in order to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. I completely agree with this statement because, major cities are home to many people. The human psychology therefore compels these individuals to build societies amongst like-minded people.

Large cities like Mumbai or Los Angeles have societies that pose an affinity for films and theatre. The defining trait of these societies is their inclination towards Bollywood and Hollywood. These cities are breeding grounds for upcoming artists. These major cities therefore help in defining the traits of the societies present here. The city of Mumbai is known as the city of dreams. Every upcoming actor who migrates to Mumbai has a dream of making it big in the field of acting. There are people in Mumbai who also have a predilection towards cricket. The city has produced some of the most promising talents in the field of cricket. A through study of the city of Mumbai will help a person narrow down on the important characteristics of various societies present here.

Moreover, cities like Chennai and Kolkata provide insights in the cultural heritage of various societies present in these cities. The aforementioned cities are some of the major cities in India. The city of Chennai is inhabited by the cultural sect known as Tamilians. The defining character of these people and the society is the language they speak in. The city of Kolkata is home to Bengalis. The peculiar nature of the societies here is their affinity towards sweets. The cultural characteristics of these societies are perceived when we study the major cities, they are present in.

On the contrary, it is not always that the major cities would provide researchers with the important characteristics of a society. Rural areas are often the source of these defining characteristics. It is often the case that people move from the rural areas to metropolitan areas of the cities. In doing so, these individuals do not leave behind the characteristics that define their society. Instead, they take it with them and then promulgate it amongst the like-minded people that the come across in the city. According to me, the true essence or the root of these societies lie in the motherland that they belong to.

I am still a strong advocate of the statement that in order to understand important characteristics of a society, one should study its major cities. But, if someone wishes to broaden their scope of research, it would be a good thought to take a look at the societies present in the rural area cause these are the ones that lay the seeds of foundation for societies to thrive in major cities of the world.