"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The prompt above suggests that a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provide clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The clues were supported by an example that stated that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels. Such a behavior was observed in humans as well were in the first born had relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring. The above study and supporting evidences are not conclusive enough and a few alternative explanations can cast a doubt on the study that was conducted.

Firstly, there has been a direct comparison between the rhesus monkeys and the humans. Historically, rhesus monkeys and the humans do share a few traits in common. But that does not prove that cortisol creation functions in the same way in humans as it does in the rhesus monkeys. The situations that have been described here are completely paradoxical in nature. Rhesus monkeys produce cortisol when they encounter an unfamiliar monkey, could possibly mean that cortisol is produced in a fight or flight situation in the rhesus monkeys. Whereas, in humans, cortisol is produced in situations, for example, when the parents return after a long absence. Thus, we can infer that in humans, cortisol is produced when he/she sees a loved one after a long period of time. Owing to this difference in stimulating situations, we cannot conclusively believe that the cortisol production in humans and rhesus monkeys works in the same way.

Secondly, there is also a doubt on the timeline as to when was this study conducted and whether it took into consideration the myriad behavioural traits that can affect the monkeys during its lifetime. Moreover, there were eighteen monkeys selected for this study, why not more? Probably the more the number of specimens for the experiment, more deviated the result could be. Eighteen seems to be too small a sample set to conclusively base a study upon.

Additionally, the last line of the argument suggests that during pregnancy, first-time monkeys had higher levels of cortisol. There seems to be incomplete information here. Since the whole study is about rhesus monkeys. Should the reader assume that the monkeys in question here, are rhesus monkeys or some other breed of monkeys. Without specific information, the last line of the study seems to be a bit vague.

The study conducted on the rhesus monkeys seems to have a lot of loopholes in it. There are a few aspects that cast a doubt on the credibility of the study and the way it was performed. Moreover, the last line seems to make this study go astray. Hence, if all the above-mentioned points can be addressed to categorically, then the study becomes much more conclusive.