Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above given prompt calls into question the technique of study used by Dr. Field. A similiar study carried by Dr. Karp has been identified by anthropologists as the recommended technique for future studies related to Tertian child-rearing practices owning to its accuracy. The evidences provided for the accuracy of Dr. Karp's technique include, the comparison of Dr. Karp's technique with Dr. Field's technique, both studies having taken place 20 years apart. Secondly, since the findings of Dr. Karp and Dr. Field do not co-incide, Dr. Karp feels that Dr. Field's study must be invalid. Lastly, the anthropologists are of the opinion that interview-centered approach will provide accurate results. Howerver, a few questions need to be answered regarding the evidences provided to fully ascertain that interview-centered technique is the best route forward.

Firstly, do the children of present scenario and the children that were observed twenty-years ago similar in characteristics? Are the social and emotional characteristics of these two classes of children similar? If no, then it may be the case that children twenty-years ago were more socially outward and would mingle with other villagers. On the contrary, the children of current setup are possibly more socially reserved which is why they tend to be more close their parents. If such a paradox can be proved, it would mean that there was no fault in the technique that Dr. Field employed while studying the children of Tertia twenty-years ago.

Secondly, the basis on which Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion related to Tertian children is invalid is not present in the argument above. There could be possible reasons which could validate the technique used by Dr. Field to study Tertian children was accurate. It could perhaps be the case that there are flaws in the technique used by Dr. Karp which could possibly mean that the observation-centered technique of Dr. Field is more accurate in its approach.

Lastly, what are premises on which the anthropologists recommend that Dr Karp's technique is more accurate than Dr. Fields? There is no support to this statment anywhere in the prompt. It could be possible that the basis on which the comaprison was made by the anthropologists was not ideal. It is reflected in the passage as to how a two studies are being compared over a span of twenty years. Twenty years is a long span for demographics to change, as well as evolution of emotions to occur. The comparison is based on dis-similar data, taken from two different time periods. Perhaps, the technique used by Dr. Field was accurate twenty years ago. This could mean that the study of Dr. Field has been wrongfully undermined.

In sum, there are a few questions related to the evidences provided in the prompt. These questions call into doubt; the validty of the evidences. If these remain unanswered, the conclusion would lie upon unwarranted premises and evidences that weaken the argument as a whole