The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Every individual who is present in school, at home or at his office is praised when a task has been successfully completed and admonished when he is guilty of committing a mistake. As we all know that praising a person helps boost his self-confidence whereas admonishing them can cause resentment among individuals. The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore the negative ones. I do not agree with such a statement since, a person should be habitual to face constructive criticism. Ignoring negative actions can hamper a person's development in the right direction and give him the impetus to perform unlawful or unethical actions. The importance of pointing out negative actions will be described below with the help of three scenarios, that is, at home, at school and at a workplace.

Parents are the first teachers that any child can count on to gain knowledge. Parents are responsible for teaching moral values to kids, such as compassion, empathy and cooperation. These moral values go about a long way in transforming a child into a complete human-being. At the same time, the parents should be mindful of the negative actions being committed by their child. It might be the case that their child is involved in bullying other kids, and taking away their toys forcefully. Hence, it is necessary for the parents to attend to such a situation at the earliest. They can explain the child about the negative effects of bullying and point out that he is committing a wrong act. This would ensure that the child does not indulge in such practices henceforth and show cooperation among his fellow peers when he is playing on the field.

Teachers at schools are often tasked with inventing new methods, to teach kids and make the courses at hand interesting. It is often the case that kids at school get appreciation for a nicely written essay or for completing their homework on time. These praises can be in the form of remarks in their diaries which motivates the kids to perform better, next time around. On the contrary, if a student fails to write a good essay, or fails to complete his homework on time, such actions should not go unnoticed. It is ideal that teachers point out the mistakes in the essays or understand the reason behind the non-completion of the essay. If such actions go unchecked, the students will think that not completing the assigned tasks is no big deal, but in reality, it will hamper the knowledge they gain and impede their overall growth. As a result, teachers should be proificient in giving constructive criticism to their disciples.

Lastly, work places often see an influx of new recruitments into the office. These new members in the office often find themselves in precarious situations because they have not yet fully adapted to the business world. This may lead to a few mistakes on their part, but it is often advisable to let go such mistakes since it is part of their learning process. Such a situation depends on a case to case basis, but mistakes such as harassing a peer or behaving inappropriately towards women is something that should not be ignored. These actions should be brought to light and necessary actions should be taken. If such actions are ignored, women would feel unsafe and the reputation of the company will be tarnished.

In sum, I am against the idea that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. In my opinion, pupils learn more from instances when they have made a mistake rather than from those instances when everything was successful. It might give the person, an impetus to correct his mistakes, when a similar situation arises a second time.