Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Students often find themselves in a dilemma as to what are courses that they should choose that would help them shape their careers. Picking courses at universities that bear no effect on the career of a student can have detrimental consequences on the overall knowledge gained by a student. The prompt suggests that universities should require students to take a variety of courses outside a students’ field of study. I object this statement on the grounds that a student would waste valuable time in gaining knowledge that will not prove to be beneficial for him in the future. The reasons for my opposition to the above statement are listed in the paragraphs below.

It is often noticed that students tend to have a predilection towards learning everything and grasping as much knowledge as possible. They tend to have an affinity to be called the "Jack of All Trades". Universities tend to further this feeling by introducing students to various courses outside their field of study. But these universities do not pay heed towards the fact that in doing so, they are depriving these students of valuable knowledge in a student's field of study. For example, a student with a high-level knowledge of a coding language would be preferred for a job over a student who has superficial knowledge about all the coding languages prevalent in the industry right now. Companies now a days are hiring individuals who tend to specialists than those who are generalists. This would mean that requiring students to take up courses other than their own field of study would inhibit these kids from gaining specialized knowledge in their own field of study.

Universities are not adept at predicting the courses that best suit the needs of a student. a university could introduce a few courses for the student to take. But if the course is not under the student's field of study, there could be resentment on the student's side. If a student is interested in studying literature. He or she should be allowed to take up courses related to literature. It would not be a wise decision to compel a student to take other courses like maths or science. It is true that it will increase the knowledge of a person. But this knowledge proves no purpose for the student in his or her life. For them it would be extraneous information, and they will become agitated due to the shift away from their preferred field of study.

Proponents of the above statement would contradict the above points by stating that a student can search for himself, the area of study that interests him. this could be done only if universities expose these kids to a variety of courses. I would partially agree with such a statement that students should be allowed to carve their own path to lead forward. but introducing them to new courses would simple mean wasting precious time. There are counselors at colleges, and they can better help understand the area of interest for the student and guide them towards picking the requisite courses. Therefore, introducing student to a variety of courses; for them to realize their area of interest is not a feasible option.

In sum, I am a strong advocate of the point that universities should refrain from requiring the students to take up a variety of courses outside there are of interest. This would only lead to the student gaining superficial knowledge about an area of study rather than detailed and thorough knowledge.