Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Art forms such as dance, music and drama form the cultural backbone of many countries. Military on the other hand provides a sense of security for a nation against enemy countries. Governments should invest as much in arts as they do in the military. I agree with such a statement, since art forms an important part of our heritage, and if due attention is not given, certain art forms may be lost into oblivion. The reasoning behind my position will be explained in brief in the paragraphs below.

As stated in the earlier passage, certain art forms personify a particular cultural heritage. Not paying due attention towards art leads to the extinction of an art form. A country such as India, which is home to a diverse number of cultures, have a plethora of art forms which are evident in the rural regions of India. Art in the form of clothes, wall paintings or folk dance are reminiscent of the past Indian culture. Many art forms also serve as a means to earn money for the people residing in the rural states of India. Hence, it is the government's duty to look into ways of preserving such forms of art.

Moreover, the governments can start educational courses for people who possess a penchant for art. Such courses would amplify their knowledge of art. Additionally, such courses can help nurture a new artist of the current generation. Governments can also extend financial support in the form of scholarships for those who do not have the adequate financial backing to pursue a career in art. Employing such measures would help an individual get profound knowledge about various forms of art.

On the contrary, people who are of the opinion that the importance of investing in military supersedes the importance of investing in art are not entirely wrong. We all would want our borders to be safe and prevent enemy infiltration into our country. Perhaps, I can contradict by stating that armies belonging to developed countries already have essential financial backing. Moreover, we are not going into a state of war every alternate year. Therefore, if art gets an investment on par with military, it would not harm the military in any way.

In sum, I am a strong proponent of the statement that governments should invest as much in arts as they do in the military. In my opinion, even if investment on par with military is not feasible, at-least a certain amount of importance should be given to art, in order to preserve it.