Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Art can take any form, be it music, dance, drama or something that is related to craftsmanship. Military on the other hand is an important asset for a nation to have in order to protect its sovereign borders. Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military. I agree with the above statement and I provide the reasoning for my position in the paragraphs below.

Art can be of any form, a folk dance, a painting style which is unique to a particular tribe or a type of theater which emphasizes upon a particular way of it's delivery. These aspects, however small, ought to be the backbone of a culture they represent. For example, the world today has seen the extinction of a myriad number of art forms, since the government of those nations did not pay heed towards preserving them. These art forms, help the historians predict about the bygone years or the past centuries and therefore these art forms play a key role for ancient historic discoveries.

Governments of the world should raise awareness among the children of different age groups about art and it's various forms. It seems that the interest for art among children is dwindling. In order to encourage students to take up art or literature as their college major, governments should provide incentives to such students. You never know if one such student goes on to become a renowned artist of the current era. Perhaps, the knowledge gained about the art of previous years helped a student make a significant discovery about historic art. Such achievements would go a long way in preserving art as well as the culture, for the next generation to witness.

Individuals against such an initiative can argue that in the current times, when there is political uncertainty among the nations. An investment into the military would be of greater necessity than an investment in art. I would partly agree with such a statement since we are going through capricious times wherein the tensions between neighboring countries like India, Pakistan and China are at an all time high. But such political tensions will wane away in few days time. If we look at the larger picture, we would claim that equal investment should be provided to art as well, as it emanates the cultural diversity, especially for a country like India which is the home to a diverse cultures.

In sum, I would still stand by my position that governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military. The reason being that if we do not take corrective measures right away to protect art, the history of art and its many forms, could be lost into oblivion forever.