Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Universities are the temples of knowledge where a student enrolls to seek further insights about his or her field of interest. The statement suggests that universities should require every student to take variety of courses outside the students’ field of study. I agree with the given statement and provide the reasoning for the same in the paragraph below.

Each and every avenue of interest that a student chooses as a career for himself is an amalgamation of different fields of study. For example, the field of machine learning. Machine learning is an area of work or a subject that is formed out myriad sub-fields. In order to become a machine learning engineer, it is paramount that a person has sound knowledge about statistics, calculus, computer programming and a bit of economics. If a student chooses to pursue one field of study, let us say mathematics. He or she will be exposed to only one aspect of machine learning, rendering him or her weak in computer programming and economics. Therefore, it would be wise if universities guide students towards other courses that could prove to be benificial for a student.

Getting acquainted to basics courses during university education is a norm that is followed by almost every university in India. Universities in India make sure that the first year students of let's say engineering are exposed to all the basic courses of mechanical, civil, computer and electrical engineering. In doing so, it helps a student grasp information that could prove to be important during the working years of a pupil. For example, we assume that a software engineer is working in a hydro-electric dam project. Owing to his or her exposure to several courses in the first year of university education. He or she can comprehend, at a shallow level, the information a civil engineer or a mechanical engineer gives about the functioning of the dam or it's structure. The student will not get drowned in the jargons that the engineers would be throwing at him.

One can argue that a student would be wasting crucial time in studying about courses, he or she does not seem to hold an interest in. I would partly agree with this statement, but to overcome such a predicament. A college could employ counselors, that help guide a student towards the right direction. They can prevent students form picking courses that would not have a positive impact on their career. And lastly, gaining basic information, about different fields of study, in form of extra courses, do no harm to the student. On the contrary, the student is gaining valuable knowledge.

In sum, I am a strong advocate of the point that universities should require every student to take variety of courses outside the students’ field of study. Since it would prevent a student from being too constrained about the knowledge he or she possesses and will be able to better grasp the knowledge being shared around him or her.