Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Faculties present in colleges or universities often consist of a few individuals who have left their executive jobs and have shifted to a pedantic profession. In doing so, they bring with themselves, a plethora of relevant industry knowledge. Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach. I agree with such a proposal, since it stands to benefit the teachers as well as the students. I will further elaborate on my position in the paragraphs below.

If teachers are given the opportunity to work outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach, it will help the faculty gain a lot of knowledge about his or her domain. For example, if a faculty of computer science works as a professional coder, for a company, in his spare time, he will gain a lot of knowledge about the various coding languages or the operating systems, that are in play right now. It might be the case that the faculty, owing to this newly gained knowledge, comes up with the idea of a new application. This could mean that he can create a new application, conduct research on the customer base that it garners, and ultimately write a thesis on his new creation. This will help boost his reputation in the academic domain and help him realize a sense of self-accomplishment.

It is not just the teachers who stand to gain from this newly acquired knowledge, the students will also learn about concepts that are currently being implemented in the professional world aroud them. It is often the case that the college curriculum is not on par with what is going on in the professional domain right now. Owing to such a difference in what is being taught and what is in effect in the world right now, the students, upon graduation, find a huge chasm between the acquired knowledge and the knowledge that they need to implemnt in the world around them. This can cause a demotivating attitude within the kids and a sense of detachment from the world. If a faculty member is on par with new concepts, prevalent in the world right now, he can impart the same knowledge to the students that he teaches. This can only be possible if faculties spend sometime of their life in the professional world and gain relevant domain knowledge.

The proposal of faculties spending their time in the professional world is a motivating idea, not just for the teachers themselves, but for the students as well. They believe that such an approach will help both the factions gain important insights into the domain of their choice. As far as this idea seems motivating, it should not come at the expense of a teacher's health, or at the expense of a student's education. It might be the case that faculty members are tired after juggling between practically two professions, as a result they are not able to teach efficiently to the students of their respective class. Such prolonged work life can also cause health problems for the teachers, ranging from tiredness to high blood-pressure. If the aforementioned problems can be successfully circumvented, then the propsal of teachers spending some time in professional world is a great initiative.

In sum, I am still a strong advocate of the proposal that colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach. Due to such a step, taken by the faculties, it would go a long way in creating successful and efficient workforce, that graduate from the college and have a sound knowledge about the world around them.