In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt given above suggests that the technique implemented by Prunty County to increase driver safety has proved to be a failure. The author of the argument therefore gives the example of Butler County and the techniques they implemented which actually proved to be a success. Therefore, the author opines that Prunty County should follow the same. The evidence look compeling at the first glance, but a closer scrutiny unearths possible fallacies on which the author has made certain assumptions and hence could render his stand weak. The paragraphs below highlight a few points that could undermine the author's position.

Firstly, the author suggests that increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility at dangerous intersections has proved to have worked successfully for Butler County. What the author fails to consider here is the driving style of people who reside at Prunty County and Butler County. The author has suggested that drivers at Prunty County have failed to abide by the decrease in speed limit and many of them have been caught for offences such as over speeding. This hints towards a reckless driving manner that is prevalent in Prunty County. Therefore, it cannot be categorically stated if adopting measures similiar to Butler County would be helpful. On the contrary, it could be the case that the number of accidents and over speeding cases have not decreased owing to the driving habits of the citizens of Prunty County.

Secondly, the author hints at some of the initiatives that Butler County had undertaken to improve driver safety and prevent accidents. The author states that these measures have been fruitful, since there has been a decrease of about twenty-five percent in accidents that are reported. But these steps, taken by Butler County were taken five years ago. It could be possible that the number of car-owners have decreased in Butler County, due to which the number of accidents being reported has also gone down. This could mean that the road improvement project taken by Butler County cannot be held accountable for the decrease in the number of accidents. Hence, it could also mean that replicating such a feet in Prunty County would not lead to desired results.

Lastly, the author hints at the report of highway patrol to support his point that drivers at Prunty County are over-speeding and hence the decision of lowering the speed limit, to prevent accidents has been a failure. It could be ideal to take a look at the reliability of the report filed by highway patrol. It could be the case that highway patrol are stopping indivduals and extorting money from these people in the name of over-speeding penalties. This would seiously call into question the reliability of author's evidence.

In sum, the evidences and comparisons that the author has made is based upon unstated assumptions, that call into question the credibility of author's evidence. Moroever, a few alternate theories call into question the conclusion that has been drawn by the author. Therefore, it is difficult to predict if the measures taken by Butler County would be a success in Prunty County.