A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Schools are the places, designated for instilling core values and moral values into a child. They are institutions where students first step into the world of education. In my opinion, the students should be brought up to speed with the current world by keeping a curriculum consistent amongst the schools situated across the whole nation.

The reason why I support such view is that children can be referred to as fledglings in life. They have no clear idea about the path they should take going into the future. Hence, it is necessary that they first gain the basic knowledge required to survive out there in the world. Subjects such as math, science, english form the core basis of a kid’s education. If it is left up to the school to decide the curriculum. Competent schools can come up with an A-grade curriculum. On the contrary, schools that are not industrious enough might hamper the overall growth of a child by developing an extremely poor curriculum for the kids. A nationally accredited curriculum instills a sense of confidence amongst the parents that their kids are being grilled through a curriculum that has been approved by the higher authorities of the nation.

A school might excel in the domain of maths since it has a very competent maths faculty, or a school might be the epitome of science education since it houses a very brilliant science faculty. There is no harm in a school to excel in a domain of study. But the mindset of a school could then be to focus solely in their areas of expertise. This would gravely hamper the all-round development of a kid. It is a possibility that after graduating from school and moving into a college, the kid might suffer problems in the basics of a particular subject since the school did not put its due resources towards the subjects they are not competent in. This inhibits the future development of a child. If a uniform curriculum is followed by all the schools in a nation, it can save the students form such an issue when they go about their curricula in the future.

Additionally, a nation-wide uniform curriculum ensures that the students get exposed to all sorts of domain that are present in the world. They assimilate all the basic information that is important for a kid to have. Therefore, it enables a kid to make a sound decision on the future course of action that interests the him. If the curriculum is not expansively deigned, it can hamper the kid’s decision making in the future.

In sum, I am a staunch advocate of the fact that a nation-wide curriculum is the best course of action. Since, it can save a kid’s future by exposing him to domain knowledge from all the areas of education. This enables the kid to have an overall knowledge of the world and decide the area of education that interests him in later stages of education.