"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Young minds in today's world are facing immense competition in any domain that they wish to pursue, as a result there may be some kids who feel that the right way to go forward is to compete with every individual and push your way towards leadership and power. Others feel that for the collective good of a society, the best way to prepare young people for government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation rather than competition. I agree with the latter statement since cooperation among future leaders can lead to a prospurous society and a country as a whole. The reasoning behind my position will be elaborated in the paragraphs below.

The government structure around the world works on the basic principle that includes a ruling party and an opposition party which keeps on questioning the steps taken by the ruling party. To some extent, such healthy politics is ideal, but after sometime it develops into illogical arguments which does no good to the nation. Moreover, in times of crisis, the opposition party tries to undermine every step taken by the ruling party. For example, during the covid-19 crisis in India, the opposition party was blaming the ruling party for it fallacies. Such toxic politics can eventually lead to a dire a situation in the nation. Such a situation occurs due to the people competing with each other. On the contrary, if these parties keep their competition aside, and work with a sense of cooperation, probably India can supress the covid-19 surge successfully and with lesser casualties. Hence, it is ideal in politics to work with a sense of cooperation, since it ultimately results in the best thing for the citizens of that country.

Industries are often competing with each other in order to do better than their counterparts. This sense of competition is what drives people to look for new methods and new techniques to increase their profits. Such competition leads to innovation and discoveries, which ultimately proves beneficial for the people all around the world. This means that competition is a good thing and should be promoted, but is it? The current century has seen many scientists, businessmen and inventors disappear in mysterious circumstances, and then it is revealed that they have fallen prey to the increased sense of competition among rival industries. Such a level of competition is not doing any good to the society, on the contrary, it is robbing it of bright minds. Cooperation among business leaders can help the society since the businesses can pool in their resources and work collectively towards a single goal. This helps the society, and helps the businesses earn revenue as well.

People who think that competition is necessary for the human civilization to advance are not completely wrong. Competition is required and I am not saying that competition should be eradicated completely, but if it comes in the way of helping the society as a whole. I, as an individual would always undermine competition and support cooperation. Competition and cooperation need to be balanced appropriately if we need the society to reap rewards out of the different domains present in the world, but siding completely with competition could prove to be a bane for the world.

In sum, I am still a strong supporter of the statement that for the collective good of a society, the best way to prepare young people for government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation rather than competition. I feel that there is a lot of hate in this world already, and a fresh perspective of cooperation will be a boon for the human civilization and the world as a whole.