Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There are various companies and corporations that operate in a country and give the countries, various positive effects as well as a few negative side effects. On the positive side, more companies is directly related to a larger job market, and higher amount of taxes collected by these companies. On the flip side, there are negative side effects as well, such as, pollution and a higher exploitation of available resources. As a result, some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate, where as, others believe that the sole responsibility of a corporation, given that they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible. I agree with the former, on the grounds that our world has faced large scale exploitation at the hands of human-beings. Therefore, corporations should now focus on saving the environment and helping the society in which they operate.

We humans are well aware of the fact that the world temperatures are rising at unprecedented levels and the icebergs in the Arctic Ocean have started to disappear altogether. Owing to such an adversity, it the responsibility of larger corporations to look for ways in which global warming can be reduced. Multi-national companies such as Google, Amamzon and Microsoft have all pledged towards making their companies go carbon-neutral in the following years. Each company has a different time-scale to achieve it, but their willingness to protect the world is commendable. Moreover, all these activities to protect the world is not hampering their revenue. By agreeing to protect the world, these companies will help reduce the rising temperatures and buy the people of this planet, a few more years to live.

Smaller companies may find it difficult to achieve such a feet, but they can operate on a smaller level and help the societies that they are present in. For example, a company that makes fitness products can organize a free medical camp for the people of their locality. In doing so, they will encourage the people to get their medical check-up done and also they can advertise their products in these medical camps. With such an approach, the people in the society will be satisfied by the steps taken by the company, and may also buy the products manufactured by the company. This results in an advantage for both the groups involved, the people will know about their body and whether it is working properly, and the company gets a platform to advertise their product, there by bringing in further revenue.

Proponents of the latter claim might argue that the companies should focus more upon making money since it ensures that the country is collecting more taxes and the company is producing new job positions at their firm. I agree with such an assertion, but the current world scenario begs us to look at ways to protect the environment, failing to do so will lead to disastrous consquences in the future. Moreover, the measures suggested above, or that have been already implemented by companies, does not hinder their normal functioning, hence, people need not worry about the lack of jobs or the lack of taxes being collected.

In sum, I am a strong advocate of the statement that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate. In my opinion, it is the right time for humans to think about saving the environment from human exploitation, and the companies have adequate resorces to mitigate the threat, posed by global warming.