Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A society or a group of homogeneous people often exhibit characteristics or traits that are reminiscent of people that they consider role models. These characteristics of a society are also the result of cultural upbringing or religious dogmas that they follow. The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the women and men they choose as heroes or role models. The reason behind such a claim is that heroes and role models reveal the society's highest ideals. I dis-agree with such a statement since such a claim is too narrow to encompass all the living beings. The reasoning behind my position will be explained in brief in the paragraphs below.

As mentioned in the aforementioned paragraph, a character of a society is often characterized by the religious dogmas and the principles that they adhere to. Few years back, it was prohibited for the Muslim ladies to drive cars in the middle east. It was a cultural taboo that dissuaded Muslim women from stepping out of the house without a "Burkha", let alone drive a car. Such cultural practices and orthodox mindset gives an outsider a glimpse about the conventional character of the Muslim society. They do not necessarily idolize a hero or a role model but the features of their society is driven by their religious beliefs. Such an example refutes the claim, that to understand the character of a society, we have to look towards the character of the role models that the society follows.

Sometimes, it is not even the cultural restrictions that characterize a society. The propensity of individuals to fraternize with their fellow peers and the way they acknowledge them tells a lot about the people in a society. It can be due to the environment of their upbringing which cultivates certain traits unique to a particular society. For example, the people of Canada are thought to be the most amenable individuals of the world. They are known for their accepting nature and minimal racial discrimination. Such a trait is partly due to the calm and simplistic nature of the whole country which dissuades a brusque attitude towards new immigrants. Once again, it refutes that claim that heroes and role models of a society have an effect on their character.

Proponents of the above claim can relent by stating that Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela were among the many revolutionary people who have an effect on people and motivates them to revolt against any wrongdoing which they encounter. I do not dis-agree with such a claim, but the emphasis of a society's character solly as a result of the character of it's heroes or role models seems a very narrow consideration.

In sum, I dis-agree with the claim that the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the women and men they choose as heroes or role models. Such an approach will often times lead to misinterpretation of the society's character. There are other aspects that are also a representation of the society's character and a holistic view is advisable when the characteristics of a society are studied.