In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Children are often taught about the past achievements of great individuals that changed the due course of history. In school we were taught about a famous Italian astronomer by the name of Galileo Galilei who came up with the theory that Earth is not the center of our universe, but it is the Sun and was he successful in proving it. This theory contradicted the orthodox belief of that time. This clearly proves that it is not necessary that to make a successful contribution, individuals need to be strongly influenced by past achievements within the field.

The Wright brothers are known for their valuable contribution to the aviation industry. They are the first pair of individuals who were able to fly a plane and prove to the world that commute through air is possible. They often faced the brunt and scrutiny of the people around them who used to ridicule the idea of an airborne vehicle or machine. These individuals had no past achievements to look up to but this did not stop them from discovering something that changed the way people commute. The famous astronomer Galileo Galilei also faced a lot of backlash from the orthodox community during his time because he dared to go against the preaching’s of the church. The priests of the church did not value this new discovery by Galileo since it went against the mandates of those times. Galileo still unfazed by this backlash, went against the church and was able to prove his theory that the sun forms the center of our universe and not the moon.

Achievements in a field can also be attributed to the past failures that have taken place in the same field. Shortcomings in a study and the observations that we record out of them often helps individuals later in the future. It helps them to study the key aspects of study which could determine the reason for the experiment to go astray from its desired result. This helps researchers be mindful of the shortcomings that were faced earlier. These shortcomings are by no means success stories but they often provide a basis on top which a study can be continued and probably lead to a fruitful conclusion.

In sum, I am a staunch advocate of the fact that it is entirely possible for an individual to help contribute to a field without being influenced by past success stories. Past failures can help a person derive valuable inferences from the situation and provide the individual an impetus to go on and do something great in a field, that has been never done before.