Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Given above is a prompt wherein the arguer states that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis. Such a statement by the arguer contradicts a widely held belief that milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium - substances that are essential for building and maintaining bones. In order to bolster his claim, the arguer provides the results of an experiment that support his claim. While glancing thorough the prompt, the evidences do provide substance to the arguer's claim, although a closer look unearths a few possible fallacies that might undermine the arguer's claim.

Firstly, the arguer states that according to the study, individuals who consumed dairy products more frequently had higher cases of bone fractures, a symptom of osteoporosis. As a result, the arguer claims that dairy products increase, rather than decrease the risk of osteoporosis. The arguer fails to throw light on the working background of individuals who suffered fractures. What if the participants who suffered fractures worked in harsh and rigorous work conditions? This would possibly hint towards the reason why the participants, pointed out specifically by the arguer are suffering from fractures. The fact that these are the same individuals who also consume dairy products might just be a co-incidence. Without further evidence, it would not be apt to conclude that milk and dairy products are the reason for an increase in the risk of osteoporosis.

Secondly, the arguer has also mentioned that osteoporosis is linked to genetic factors. What if the reason for an increased number of fractures, in the individuals pointed out by the arguer, is due to the genes that they have inherited from the parents. It might be possible that the people who have not inherited this disease from their parents are keeping it at bay by consuming dairy products. It could be the case that, since genetic diseases stay with a person from the moment they are born, even an increased amount of dairy product consumption is not helping them out, whereas in other cases dairy products might work well towards preventing this disease. Since the arguer has failed to provide evidence regarding possible cases of inheritance of the disease in the pool of participants, it cannot be categorically stated if dairy products are to be blamed for the increasing risk of osteoporosis.

Lastly, the environmental conditions are also said to be a contributing factor to osteoporosis. So, what if the participants, who have suffered fractures belong to a palace who's environmental conditions increase the risk of contracting osteoporosis. The arguer fails to provide evidence regarding the participants' demographic backround. It might be the case that participants from a more favorable background, counteract the risk of contracting osteoporosis by consuming dairy products. Owing to the lack of relevant data and various other possibilities, it would not be ideal to blame daily products for the increase in risk of contracting osteoporosis.

In sum, the evidence provided by the arguer, that support his claim, are dubious as well as erroneous. The evidence hint at various other possibilities that seriously undermine the arguer's position and cast a doubt on his final conclusion.