Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

As soon as kids step into college, their education requirements take up a new purpose. They are now at a stage in life wherein one decision will define the rest of their life. It will decide whether they will struggle at work or excel in it. Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study while others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field. I agree with the former, and support the fact that students should side with their interests rather than what is prevalent in the job market currently. The reasoning behind my decision will be presented in the paragraphs below.

While picking a potential field as career, students, more often than not, fail to weigh in the implications of a wrong choice. For example, a kid who possesses an interest in art should be motivated to pursue a career in art rather than a lucrative career such as engineering or medicine. Interest plays a large part in motivating a person to get up early in the morning and go to work. If a person does not feel a sense of motivation towards the work he does. It will affect the work he performs and will emanate a lethargic demeanor. It is also a note to the parents of a kid to support your child's decison and motivate it rather than berate him or her on their career choice. A student, working in his desired field of interest would go leaps and bounds in achieving success.

Renowned economists and career counsellors occasionally fail to predict the a job market five years down the line, after all we are humans and making errors in our prediction is acceptable and predictable. As a result, how can people expect a student to predict whether the availability of a particular job, in the job market will sustain, until he graduates. If a student agrees to pursue a career wherein there are a plethora of jobs available in that field. what assurance can any person provide that the number of jobs, in the field that a kid has decided to pursue will sustain in the future. If the number of jobs available plummets. Then the kid will find himself in a volatile situation wherein he has nowhere to go to. No job security can lead to problems like depression to engulf a kid's mind.

On the contrary, people might argue that kids are not mature enough to take job related decisions on their own. Hence, it would be ideal if they take a safe route rather than being over-ambitious and taking up a career which the kid's parents are skeptical of. I would oppose such a stand because letting a kid choose a career just because it is a safe route or because of a high job availability in the market could have detrimental ramifications in the child's life later on. It is advisable that parents let their kids discover what interests them rather than deciding themselves on their kid's behalf.

In sum, I am a strong advocate of the statement that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. In today's world wherein people face ample pressure during their jobs. A job, with no satifaction will only add up to the pressure and lead to mental health issues later in life. Hence, it is advisable that college students follow their talents and choose a career track that coincides with it.