The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

An argument was published in a newspaper editorial which states that if the autonomy of a country has to be protected, illegal immigrants should be sent back to the country of their origin. The arguer has provided supporting evidences and premises on which his or her conclusion stands. On the first reading, these evidences and premises look legible. Although, a close scrutiny points otherwise. A few unstated assumptions or evidences can prove the final stand of the arguer, weak.

Firstly, the arguer states that the autonomy of a country depends upon the strength of its borders. The strength of a country's border monitoring is only a partial aspect of protecting the autonomy of a country. It is also possible that a country has a weak defense system, a weak army and a weak secret service organization. This could prove that the nation will be unable to record threats against it, irrespective of the border being strong. Attributing the automony of a country, entirely upon the borders of a country is a fallacious assumption that has been presented by the arguer.

Secondly, the arguer states that the immigrants pose a threat upon the economy and national identity of a nation. What if a tyrant is heading the country who has no regard towards the well-being of it's citizens? Or what if the incumbent government is filled with corrupt officals who are feeding over the money, paid by the citizens of the nations in form of taxes? This could mean that the economy and national identity of the nation is still under threat. Therefore, blaming the imigrants towards the same is a biased viewpoint by the arguer.

Lastly, the arguer puts forward the point that illegal immigrants are a threat to the nation. What percent of illegal immigrants are attributed towards creating nuisance for the nation? Such a statistic has not been provided in the prompt by the arguer. If the number of immigrants guilty of creating nuisance falls below the number of citizens who are guilty of malpractices in the nation. Then, it would mean that the immigrants are being wrongfully rebuked over something they are not guilty off. It could also be the case that these immigrants have fled their home country to find a safe haven and live peacefully. Therefore, these immigrants do not pose a threat to the national security. It could be the case that they just want to restart their life from scratch.

In sum, there are plenty of unstated assumptions and possibilities that the arguer has turned a blind eye towards. Failing to consider these unstated assumptions can weaken the overall stand of the arguer and prove his argument to be unwarranted.