The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior.

Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time.

Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000.

Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home,

I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The paragraph above is a letter that compares two real estate firms in a town. the firms are named Adams Realty and Fitch Realty. It seems that the author of the paragraph seems to side with Adams reality due to his latest experience with them. It states that author was able to sell a house last year with the help of Adams Realty in a month. On the contrary, he exclaims that Fitch Realty are not up to the mark since they took up to four months to help the author sell a house. The author thus concludes that Adams Realty are a better bet than Fitch Realty. The above argument on an initial basis seems to provide categorical evidences to support the author claims. But on scrutiny, there are a few loopholes that if remain unanswered would cast a doubt on the conclusion that the author draws out of the above argument.

Firstly, the author compares the employee strength of both the real estate firms by stating that Adams Realty have more employees than Fitch Realty. This helps the author draw the initial conclusion that Adams Realty is superior. The comparison of the employee strength does not pose an ideal factor to compare the superiority of a firm. It can also be possible that Fitch Realty work better at a lesser employee strength than Adams Realty. It can be highly possible that Fitch Realty run an efficient office where they do not need to resort to over-staffing and at the same time get the job done.

Secondly, the author compares the revenue of both the firms stating that Adam Realty had a revenue, twice as high as that of Fitch Realty. This way the author implicitly puts forward his point that Adams Realty performed better financially last year which is why they should be picked over Fitch realty. The question that arises here is, why did the author compare the revenue of only the last year, why not the past five or ten years. Comparing an year's revenue, proves to be too short of a sample set to base a conclusion upon. Comparing the revenue of both the firms over an extended period could give up more compelling trends of the performance of both the firms. The last year could prove to be an anomaly and it could be the case that Fitch Realty perform well on an extended period as compared to Adams Realty in terms of revenue,

Additionally, the author compares his experience with both Adams Realty and Fitch Realty and sides with Adams Realty by stating that Adams Realty helped the author sell his house quicker and at a higher price than Fitch Realty. The main distinguishing factor that brings down this comparison is the time period over which this comparison has been made. The house sold with the help of Fitch Realty was ten years ago while the one sold with the help of Adams Realty was a year ago. There might be a possibility that the housing sector was not doing well ten years ago, and this meant that Fitch Realty had trouble selling the house quickly. This comparison seems viable only if the performance of both the real estate firms occur in the same time period.

The prompt provided above compares the performance of two real estate firms based on arguments that have voids in it. The evidences are not categorical and hence it weakens the conclusion that the author draws based on the evidences and arguments stated above.