Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Schools are the centers of knowledge that many kids look up to in order to gain a good foundation, upon which they can build up their later career. A school is also tasked with instilling values that can help produce a moral society. Some people are of the opinion that teaching morality should be the foundation of education whereas others think that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society. I agree with the latter, since in my opinion a logical thinking will allow a person, make sound decisions regarding any situation. I will elaborate further on my position, with the help of few examples, in the paragraphs below.

Teachers who are tasked with instilling moral values will have their own set of moral values that they feel are right and should be preached among the students. We as humans have our own predilections towards set values. If a teacher is tasked with instilling moral values, he or she might teach only those values that seem appropriate according to them. Such a situation can lead to dis-balance among the future generations when a consensus has to be reached, since they were taught varying moral values based upon the penchant of their teachers. Such a situation would lead to an immoral society, ravaged with chaos and arguments. As a result, it is always ideal to teach the students, a logical way of thinking, since it helps every person process the situation and then come to a reasoned decision.

The upsides of teaching students, a logical way of reasoning, is that it helps the student assess the situation based on the variables that are in play. I am not against the teaching of moral values at school, but they should not be the foundation of education. On the contrary, they should be complementary to logical reasoning. Children should be taught ways to decipher a problem, look into the variables that are involved and then come to a final conclusion. In order to back such a conclusion, moral values can be used, but this isn't always necessary. Such an approach helps the decision makers explain their position with ease and credibility. Such a consensus, brought about by logical reasoning will ultimately help garner a moral society.

Proponents of the opinion that teaching morality should be the foundation of education might argue that a more logically reasoned society will no longer pay heed towards moral values, ultimately, moral values would be lost into oblivion. I agree that moral values form the base of our cultural heritage, and loosing them would be a big loss to mankind, but attributing it's importance to education is a step too far. I am not against the idea that teaching of moral values should be abolished from school. I am against the idea that moral values should be the foundation of education. In my opinion, making moral values the foundation of education can lead to the creation of a more secular society, than a moral society.

In sum, I am a strong believer of the opinion that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society. I feel that it is apt to teach the children, a logical way of thinking, and then give them the freedom to make logically sound decisions based on what they feel is logically correct.