The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Children at a rudimentary age need to swayed in the right direction so that they grow up to become responsible and ideal humans. It is not just the children that need to be taught, it is also the people at work, generally recent college graduates who might by reserved when they work for the first time. The best way to teach - whether as an educator, employer, or a parent - is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. I disagree with this statement, owing to the fact that such a statement is too extreme. It is not an ideal approach to ignore negative actions, because in my opinion these are the instances that are of utmost importance when it come to teaching. On the basis of a few examples, I will explain in brief, the reasoning behind my position in the paragraphs below.

Be it teachers at school or parents at home, they take immense pride when a kid excels in a particular assignment or an extra-curricular activity. It is understandable that kids should be praised for the same, but if a kid commits a mistake, he should be admonished for the action he committed. For example, kids on a playground are often involved in minor altercations, in some instances, a kid hits another kid. Such an action should be dealt with by the teacher or by the parents. If such an action is ignored, the culprit will grow up thinking that hitting people is not an offense, and is the right thing to do if someone opposes you. No parent would want his child to grow up with such a mindset. Hence, if the negative actions by the kids are pointed out and resolved at that very moment it occurred, it will help the kid develop into a better human-being.

At work, recent graduates are often guilty of committing minor mistakes owing to their lack of experience. Such cases are commonplace and often ignore a project leader on the grounds that these freshers are learning how the company works. Such minor mistakes can have a catastrophic impact on the company if they exacerbate into something major. Project leaders are often known to shower praises on the positive actions of their team members, but that does not mean that negative actions are ignored. Suppose a small error occurs in a computer program made by a new recruit, it is ideal to point out his mistake so that the same mistake does not occur again. The mistake made by the new recruit may seem benign but can transform into something major in the later stages of project. Hence, it is ideal to point out mistakes so that subordinates learn from them.

Proponents of the above claim might argue that pointing out negative actions may hamper the confidence of the person who is learning. I disagree with such a statement. On the contrary, pointing out mistakes result in a better learning experience. It is often said that people will forget the thousand good deeds performed by a person, but will always remember the wrong actions of a person, even if they are infinitesimal. Why should we let people deride our status by pointing out mistakes that were easily avoidable had we corrected them while we were being taught? Hence, it is ideal that negative actions should be brought the notice of the individual who committed it, in order to make him learn the ill-effects of committing them.

In sum, I disagree with the statement that the best way to teach - whether as an educator, employer, or a parent - is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. It is always ideal to have a good balance between praising positive actions and condemning negative ones.