In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Every statement or a theory that is made or postulated is contradicted by individuals who posses opposing views related to it's reasoning or credibility. These contrasting views sometimes pave way for new discoveries or boil down to senseless arguments. In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view. I agree with such an assertion because in my opinion, the world would not make any progress if we do not question or argue the dogmas currently prevalent. The role of contrasting points is made much clear when we look at their impact on our society with the help of a few examples.

Physical science is a domain which has seen a number of theories being changed or tweaked according to counter-arguments that are thrown towards widely accepted notions. One such theory, that has seen a few changes of late is the quantum theory and the wave theory. Scientists over the years have striven hard to reconcile these two theories, or undermine one theory and support the other. Such an approach has given rise to myriad contrasting points of view. As a result, the world has come up with the "string theory". String theory is an effort by the scientists to reconcile wave theory and quantum theory. It is true that string theory is still under development, but it is true that years of conflict and contrasting view points have enabled scientists to come up with an entirely new theory, as one would likely say, a new discovery.

The effect of contrasting points of view is not limited to physical sciences only. Psychologists have long been debating about the source of general behavior traits in a human-being. The long contested "nature-nurture" debate is aiming to find answers to interesting questions. Some researchers are of the opinion that behavioral traits are a result of certain brain chemistry - "nature", whereas others contest that the behavior of a person is due to the environment he finds himself in - "nurture". After years of debate, it has been finally concluded that behavioral traits of a person are a result of nature. This breakthrough would go a long way in studying various cases related to mental health and eccentric behavior. As seen above, years of conflict have paved the way for possible ground-breaking research in psychology.

There are certain places or situations wherein contrasting points of view do not necessarily result in progress. Let's assume two members of opposing political parties, who have been invited to a debate regarding the current condition of a country. Debates such as these are known to end up in fights and slurs been thrown at each other. Both the members have been given just one task by their seniors, to preach propaganda on national television and procure the votes of the masses. These discussions as well as the contrasting points of view do not help the country, nor does it solve the various problems faced by the citizens of the country.

In sum, I agree with the assertion that in any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view. In my opinion, if the contrasting views are being made for the collective good of the society, it is bound to make a long lasting and a positive effect on the domain and on the situation.