An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

An international development organization has come up with a recommendation to grow millet that have been engineered in such a way that they are rich in vitamin A. This has been done so as to address the needs of an impoverished country known as Tagus. The arguer provides evidence to suggest that these millet seeds will have a positive impact in Tagus and will help the people overcome their vitamin A deficiency. The evidence seems compelling during the first reading. But a closer look unearths a few unaccounted assumptions which could cast doubt on the arguers recommendation.

Firstly, what aspects of farming will the subsidies, as mentioned in the passage cover? Will there be subsidies only for buying the newly engineered millet seeds or for other agricultural aspects as well? It is possible that these new kind of seeds will require additional effort in terms of farming equipment's for harvesting them. Moreover, the arguer fails to mention the organization that will be providing these subsidies and how reliable the organization is. And lastly, the arguer fails to mention the duration for which these subsidies will be provided for the farmers.

Secondly, the arguer mentions that the seeds of millet are newly engineered seeds. This calls into question the reliability of the millet seeds itself. Since these seeds have not been tried in the natural environment. What assurance can the arguer give that these seeds will grow into fully mature plants at the first go? Moreover, it seems that these seeds have only been lab tested. Therefore, the second question. Does it retain the vitamin A content in the natural environmental setting as well? If not, then the discovery of these new seed would be a complete waste of resources.

Lastly, the author predicts that the citizens of Tagus will readily adopt the new millet type since millet is already the staple food for the residents of Tagus. The author fails to consider the possibility that seeds like these also have several types to it. Therefore, it cannot be categorically stated if this new type of millet will be adopted by the citizens of Tagus. What if the citizens of Tagus feel that there is a difference in the taste or other aspects of this new millet? This could mean that the residents of Tagus will go back to the millet seeds that they originally consumed. This would mean that the new millet seeds could be a failure.

In sum, it is difficult to categorically verify if the newly engineered millet seeds would be a success in Tagus. There are several unstated assumptions that could cast doubt on the final outcome. And until these unstated assumptions are attended to by the arguer, the reliability of the arguer's claim is capricious.