Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguer states that woven baskets, characterized by a distinctive pattern have been previously found only in the immediate vicinity of the pre-historic village of Palea. Therefore, they could have been made only by the Palean people. However, a recent discovery of a Palean basket has been made in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. Since the Brim River is very deep and broad, and since there were no Palean boats discovered, it has been concluded that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. The evidences on which the arguer has based the conclusion has a few loopholes in it that casts doubt on the conclusion itself.

Firstly, the fact that no Palean boats have been found does not conclusively end the possibility that Palean people did not cross the Brim River. There could be a possibility that the boats have not been discovered yet. And a through survey of the Palean village site can provide evidences, hinting towards that fact that boats existed during the time when the Palean village was inhabited. There can also be a possibility of the boats getting destroyed due to a sudden onset of heavy rains that triggered huge flooding of the area that can be the reason for the destruction of their mode of transporting across the river. This could mean that the distinctive patterns, found on the woven baskets were unique to the Palean inhabitants and probably they would go across the river to sell the woven baskets in the Lithos village.

Secondly, the discovery of a single Palean Basket does not prove the point that the distinctive pattern on the woven basket was not unique to the Palean people. There are numerous possibilities owing to which the Palean basket might have reached across the river. There could be a possibility that the inhabitants of the Lithos village raided Palea, and took with them, a handful of Palean baskets on the way back. This would co-incide with the arguer’s statement that there were no Palean boats found, but there could be a possibility that the residents of Lithos village approached Palea and took with them the Palean baskets that were unique to Palea only. This would again cast a doubt on the arguer’s conclusion which states that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The points that the arguer puts forth in his dissertation has many loopholes that have been elaborated upon in the previous couple of paragraphs. And, until these points have been attended to, one cannot accept the conclusion that the arguer has come up with.