The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A memo to the vice president of Quiot Manufacturing states that during the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than the nearby Panoply Industries plant. The reason for this discrepancy, cited by the arguer is that the work shifts at Panoply Industries are an hour shorter than Quiot Manufacturing. As evidence, the arguer states that the contributing factor to on job accidents, according to experts, is fatigue and sleep deprivation and hence, the arguer suggests that Quiot Manufacturing should reduce the working time of each of its three shifts by an hour so as to reduce on job accidents and increase productivity. The suggestion presented by the arguer along with the evidences seem compelling when read for the first time. Perhaps, a thorough scrutiny unearths a few possible unstated possibilities that could undermine the arguer's suggestion.

Firstly, the arguer fails to give evidence regarding the type of work carried out at Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries plant. Is the work carried out at both the locations similar? What if the work carried out at Quiot Manufacturing involves more risks than the work carried out at Panoply Industries. This could mean that the reason behind a lesser on the job accidents is because the work at Panoply Industries is safer than Quiot Manufacturing. If we assume that the work at both the locations is similar, another question arises. Is the machinery used at at both the locations same? What if Panoply Industries employees updated machines which are safer than the machines installed at Quiot Manufacturing. This could prove why the number of on-the-job accidents at Panoply Industries is less and therefore, call into question the arguer's suggestion that reducing the work shift hours at Quiot Manufacturing could reduce on-job-accidents.

Secondly, the arguer assumes that reducing work shift hours would reduce on-the-job accidents at Quiot Manufacturing. The author implies that the reduction in working hours will be used by the workers of Quiot Manufacturing to grab an extra hour of sleep. Such an assumption is baseless since the arguer cannot be sure about how the workers will utilize an extra hour of free time. What if the workers use this free time to indulge in other frivolous activities? This would mean that the reduction in work hours will not necessarily lead to a decrease in on-the-job accidents because the workers will return to work, deprived of sleep, as earlier. Such an instance would again undermine the arguer's suggestion that reduction in work hours will result in a reduction of on-the-job accidents.

Lastly, the arguer states the reduction in in-the job accidents will lead to an increase in productivity. It can be true that such a feat is achieved Quiot Manufacturing, but there is no evidence in the argument to prove such a thing would happen. What if the workers at Quiot Manufacturing are lethargic in the way they go about performing their duties? This could possibly be the reason why the number of on-the-job accidents is higher at Quiot Manufacturing and moreover, such a staff would decrease rather than increase the productivity in Quiot Manufacturing owing to the reduction in work shift hours. This again calls into question the success of arguer's suggestion.

In sum, owing to the unprecedented number of alternate possibilities and assumptions, it cannot be categorically stated if the arguer's suggestion would be a success. A deeper and an informed study by the arguer could make for a compelling argument from the arguer's side.