The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The world has seen a great boom in advancements in various fields, be it science, technology or medicine. People now indulge in various practices to feel strong and independent. Some people claim otherwise, stating that luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into a truly strong and independent individual. I disagree with people who hold such a view. On the contrary, I feel people have become more independent and strong due to the luxuries of today's world. The reasoning behind my position as well as a few supporting examples will be provided in brief, in the paragraphs below.

Twenty-first century civilization has experienced a huge progress when it comes to technology, especially those realted to computers. People today are more inclined towards picking up jobs similar to a freelancer. Such a position prevents a person from committing his entire life to one organization and at the same time have security in terms of money. Such a feat has been achieved only due the luxuries of contemporary life, that is the internet. Internet has been a boon to civilization as people can conduct meetings and take up projects for their freelance jobs without having a physical encounter. The job of a freelance releases a person from the reigns of strict working hours, he can work for how long he wants and whenever he wants to, but at the same time adhere to the delivery deadlines. Such a situation allows a person to invest time on themselves and become a better person. Luxuries of contemporary life have truly helped a person become more independent.

An interesting domain that has substantial contribution towards contemporary conveniences and luxury is biomedical. Recent success in this domain has seen medicines and vaccines getting developed at economical rates. Medicines are now available at chemists at prices that are available at prices wherein the lower-middle class can also afford to buy it. Epidemics like Ebola, SARS, and Swine Flu have been successfully eradicated. These vaccines and medicines have increased the mortality rate in the world, and has made indviduals strong and resistant to several dieases. If it were not for such medications, we would have experienced a very low mortality rate.

Proponents of the above statement would point out towards the sedentary lifestyle that the kids today indulge in. They are more or less couch potatoes who sit in front of the television and gain no particular knowledge out of it and at the same time spoil their health. I agree that such a habit should be eradicated as soon as possible, but blaiming the kids will not help, nor will blaiming contemporary luxuries. It should be the duty of the parents to promote an active life, filled with extra-curricular activities and the teachers at school should encourage it as well. Blaming current luxuries and conveniences would not reverse a child's declining health.

In sum, I am still against the statement that luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into a truly strong and independent individual. The trend of recent advancements and innovations have only pointed out towards promoting a stronger and a more independent way of living life.