Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Political leaders of a country are elected into power by it's citizens. It is therefore the duty of a political leader or a public servant to work for the citizens. Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon the principles for the sake of compromise. On the other hand, some believe that the quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. In my opinion, these two statements are extreme in nature and a right balance between these two would go about a long way in satisfying both, the citizens and the political leaders. The paragraphs below will elucidate my reasoning behind this neutral stance.

Citizens often voice their displeasure against the incumbent government due to it's inefficiency in providing promised resources and infrastructure to the country. Therefore, the citizens believe that these political leaders should give up their objectives and principles and yield to public opinion as a form of compromise. Such a feet, a compromise among st all the myriad classes and sects of people, residing in a country is a tough ask. For example, a country such as India, which is the home to myriad religions and sects have different demands and different ways to fulfill them. Therefore, a government would find it really hard to please all the religions and come to a compromise. A compromise in a such a situation could probably lead to a disappointing outcome for both the feuding groups. The citizens should let the higher authority of the country decide the final outcome and believe in them. A route of compromise would be detrimental for the political party itself. Such a plan would lead to widespread disappointment amongst the common people, owing to the weak decisions being made by the government. Therefore, ruling party could end up loosing future elections. A definitive decision would help the political party maintain it's grip hold over the nation at the expense of few disappointed citizens.

If the political leader does not yield to public opinion and adhere to his principles and objectives. He can gain a false sense of independence. A feeling that he does not have to answer to anyone. This could mean that he can do whatever pleases him. A political leader with unjust political ideologies would probably look towards hurting the national economy by aggrandizing the wealth of the hard-working people which they pay as taxes. Allowing a political leader, a free ride to do whatever he or she wants is a call for trouble. Moreover, it is sometimes the people who grow agitated since they do not see significant progress in the welfare of the country. They feel that the political leaders are not doing right by them, by following unjust political ideologies. In such a case, citizens should wait and comprehend the tasks done by the political leaders before warning them to yield in front of the public.

In sum, any of the above route can be a cause of concern for either the political leaders or the citizens. The above suggested measure are extreme in nature. Therefore, a better solution would be to let both classes of individuals to work in harmony, so that it leads to the collective good of the nation.