As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Acquiring knowledge drives an individual to strive deeper into a particular domain. Gaining knowledge allows a person to have a base upon which he can build up new theories and make new discoveries. As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, rather they become more complex and mysterious. I disagree with this statement because in my opinion, gaining more knowledge helps us discern realms of knowledge that were previously undiscovered, or it helps us reason out the plausibility of theorems and axioms based on our newly acquired knowledge. I will further elaborate on my position with the help of a few examples in the paragraphs below.

If we look at the domain of science, it is a vast paradigm, wherein a person would find himself lost, if he does not have adequate knowledge. Be it nuclear physics or bio-medical engineering, the more knowledge we have regarding the two aforementioned domains, the more success and safety it will bring to mankind. Nuclear energy is a very dangerous domain to fiddle with, rather than having a lack of knowledge, a scientist, with adequate amount of knowledge can help take corrective measures in case of an emergency. A bio-medical engineer can study the different types of viruses that are evolving in the current century and accordingly create medications to counter-act the symptoms. Science as a domain let's an individual open up closed domains with the help of knowledge. Who knows the next scientific discovery may be the biggest discovery of this century? All of this, only possible if we build up on preexisting knowledge, that helps us open up new avenues.

It is not just the domain of science, but also the domain of technology that helps ease the pain taken by humans to perform certain tasks. A few decades ago, when computers were not present in our daily lives, we had to perform onerous tasks by ourselves. This would end up taking time and did not guarantee whether the task was performed accurately. The introduction of computers, which are complex machines, have not made our lives onerous or mysterious, rather they have eased our burden. It has helped individuals finish their jobs quickly and perfectly, owing to which they can spend more time with their families. Advancements in technology is only making our lives easier and less cumbersome than earlier.

Space exploration is a domain that has progressed leaps and bounds due to the various advancements that the field has experienced over the past years. Ever since humans landed on moon, we are pushing the boundaries of space exploration. This has been achieved, partly due the knowledge that we have amassed during the past years. Knowledge about space has helped us making important discoveries about the Mars and the Moon. Who knows these discoveries lead to a time when humans start inhabiting other planets in the universe? Universe is a place which has no boundaries and it is up to us humans who need to gain as much knowledge as possible to explore uncharted areas of space. Knowledge in the realm of space exploration has only made us curious regarding the new explorations that are in store for us and ready to be discovered. By no means is gaining more knowledge complicating our understanding about space, on the contrary, it is only simplifying what we already know about space.

In sum, I still stand against the statement that as we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, rather they become more complex and mysterious. In my opinion, knowledge forms the base for further exploration in any particular domain, and that, new discoveries cannot be made if we do not strive for new information on a daily basis.