The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College states that there is a need for new dormitories to be built, citing the current number would prove to be insufficient 50 years down the line. Moreover, an increase in the average rent of apartments in the town around Buckingham College would encourage a greater number of students to adopt on campus housing. Finally, the memo states that attractive dormitories would entice the students to choose Buckingham College. The positon of the director and the evidences provided seem to be legible during the first reading, but scrutinizing the memo thoroughly brings about dubious statements that could cast doubt on the director's position.

Firstly, the director of student housing at Buckingham College states that the number of enrollments at the college is growing. Therefore, such a trend justifies the need to increase the number of dormitories at Buckingham College. The timeline being said to be over a span of fifty years. First of all, fifty years is too long a time frame to comment upon. Things change thick and fast over a couple of years. It is possible that in the future, Buckingham College is not well-known anymore for the standard of education it imparts. This would mean that the dormitories that have been built would be rendered useless since the number of rooms outweigh the number of students enrolled. This could mean a wastage of crucial funds that could have been invested at the betterment of other aspects of the college. New dormitories can be built at a later stage as and when deemed necessary.

Secondly, the increase in the average rent of off-campus housing can be a one-off event which could be taking place due to rise in inflation or poor performance of real-estate in the market. Such a situation does not last forever and the housing prices could recede back to the normal and affordable prices. There could also be a likelihood of drastic decrease in apartment rent in the town surrounding Buckingham College that can drive the students to take up off-campus housing as opposed to living in expensive dormitories at Buckingham College. This would mean that adding new dormitories is totally unjustified.

Moreover, a prospective student would pay more heed towards the standard of education at Buckingham College. Education being imparted at Buckingham College would be of primary importance to a student seeking admission here. A grandiloquent dormitory would be secondary in the mind of a student deciding which college to attend. A student would be unfazed by the attractiveness of the dormitory if the standard of education at Buckingham College is poor. This would mean that a low number of students would attend Buckingham College, making the expansion of number of dormitories unwarranted.

In sum, the evidence provided by the director to justify his position is based upon unwarranted evidences that do not have any basis to it. These evidence make the position of the director look weak. Without additonal evidences, it cannot be categorically claimed that an increase in the number of dormitories at Buckingham College is required.