The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A planning department of an electric power company have suggested in their memorandum that there is no need to construct new generating plants. The planning department thinks that current electric generating plants are capable enough to supply the requisite amount of electricity to it's consumers. The planning department has also cited a few evidences that seem to bolster their claim. Although, a closer look at the memorandum hints towards a few alternate possibilities that might cast doubt on the department's conclusion.

Firstly, the planning department has failed to consider the possibility of an increase in population of the people living in the area where they supply electricity. What if there is an influx of immigrants into the area where the company supplies electricity? It can be possible that the appliances that these immigrants have brought with them are not energy efficient appliances. This could mean that there will be acute load on the existing electric generating plants, and it is also possible that they can breakdown due to excessive power demands. This could undermine the planning department's claim that the current electric generators will suffice to the electricity needs.

Secondly, recent surveys indicate that home owners are eagerly interested in conserving energy. This is an evidence, presented by the planning department, which inherently states that since the home owners are eager to conserve energy, the electricity consumption would decrease and hence, additional generating plants are not required. There is a difference between willingness to do something and actually performing the task. What if the home owners are eager to conserve electricity but might not implement energy saving methods immediately? Furthermore, it could prove to be a large investment for the home owners to replace their currently inefficient appliances with energy saving appliances, something, that they might not be willing to make. This could mean that energy consumption in the area would likely not decrease, on the contrary, might even increase.

Lastly, the planning department cites that manufacturers are marketing many home appliances that are twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. It might be true that the manufacturers are doing a good job at marketing their products, but how can the planning department be certain that people will buy them? It can be possible that these appliances are costlier than the appliances that are not energy efficient. It is also likely that someone who has recently purchased electronics might not wish to immediately exchange their product with an energy efficient alternative. This could mean that the energy consumption in the area might not diminish and such a situation might therefore, refute the planning department's suggestion that addition of electric generating plants are not required.

In sum, the evidences provided by the planning department are dubious and lead to many alternate possibilities. It cannot be categorically said whether the planning department's suggestion, regarding the addition of electric generating plants is a sane and a well thought suggestion.