The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The memorandum provided above is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants. The business manager has come to a conclusion that the customers of the restaurant are either unaware of the difference between margarine and butter or they use the term 'butter' to refer to butter or margarine. This conclusion is based upon a few evidences that the business manager has provided. The evidence look legible during the first reading, but a closer look could unearth a few alternate theories or assumptions that could put the business manager's conclusion in a precarious situation.

Firstly, the arguer has stated the the number of customers who have complained about such a change is approximately two percent. The arguer therefore assumes that ninty-eight out of a hundred customers are satisified with the change. Such a comparison is inaccurate because comparison is being done between a percentage and a whole number. Such a comparison is based upon unequal quantities which could lead to discrepancy in the outcome. What if, the two percent accounts to over a million people that have complained about such a change. This is a particularly large number which puts the business manager's conclusion under scrutiny. This could prove that the customers are able to clerly distinguish the change from butter to margarine.

Secondly, the arguer suggests that the customers who ask for butter do not complain if they are given margarine instead. Such an information has come to the business manager via the servers of the restaurant. It could be possible that the customers vent their disappointment when they are not served butter. But the servers ignore these complains and it does not reach the top officals of Happy Pancake House restaurant. It could also be possible that customers have come to realization that they will no longer receive butter in their food and hence, do not possess the will to even complain about their predicament. This could again mean that the customers are well aware of the difference between butter and margarine.

Lastly, the arguer states that butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants in southwestern United States. It could be possible that the people living in the aforementioned region have not tasted butter for majority of their life. So probably, it could mean that the shift from margarine to butter is not something that they really care about. However, it can be possible that if such a course of action is attempted somewhere else. The customers might be aware of the difference between butter and margarine.

In sum, it can be said that the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurant has based his conclusion on various assumptions that could have alternate explanations and possibilities to it. Therefore, the conclusion of the arguer cannot be categorically accepted unless he or she takes into account, the possible unstated assumptions, listed in the paragraphs above.