"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "

According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A memo form the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company states that there is a dip in the number of people who viewed their movies over the past one year. The director cites various reasons for such a situation to occur, hence the advertising director is of the opinion that the advertising budget should be increased so that they can advertise more, to the people, the movies made by the production house. The suggestion by the director as well as the evidences provided are noteworthy, although a closer look unearths a few alternate possibilities that could undermine the director's final conclusion.

Firstly, the advertising director states that the dip in viewership has occured over the past year. It could be possible that the viewers of their movies or the place which they belong to is going through a spell of recession. It could be possible that people have stopped or minimized watching movies altogether, not just the movies produced by Super Screen Movie Production Company. This could mean that even if the advertising budget is increased and the people are made aware of the movies, they would be reluctant to spend money on buying movie tickets. This could mean that increasing the advertisng budget in the hope of increasing viewership would be a futile move by the advertising director.

Secondly, the advertising director has cited positive reviews being received by the movies that are produced by Super Screen Movie Production Company, and he thinks that these reviews are not reaching the people, hence there is a dip in movie viewership. What if the movie reviews are reaching the audience, people know that the movie is critically acclaimed, but the viewers are not happy with the genre of movies that Super Screen Movie Production Company is producing? This could mean that, even if the advertising director makes more and more people aware of the movie and the reviews it garnered, it would not be a good enough motivation for the people to watch the movie since they are not interested in it. Thus, increasing the advertising budget could prove to be a loss of money for the production company.

Lastly, let's assume that the movies being made by Super Screen Movie Production Company are of a very good quality, as stated by the advertising director, it does not necessarily mean that the advertising them will help Super Screen Movie Production Company recover their lost audience. What if the people have found other ways of watching movies, like through online streaming or viewing pirated content from online sources? This could mean that any effort made by the adversting director would not be enough to bring back the lost audience and on the contrary, excessive spending on advertising will only exacerbate their situation.

In sum, the evidences provided by the advertisng director are fallacious and dubious. The evidences, when closely read, lead to erroneous interpretations. As a result, it cannot be categorically stated if increasing advertising budget will revive the count of people who watch movies produced by Super Screen Movie Production Company.