Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions have a duty too make sure that the kids they impart knowledge to, get the right kind of information which will help develop themselves as eligible indviduals in the job market today. Educational institutions should encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers. I disagree with this statement and I provide the reasoning for the same in the paragraphs below.

A field of study can only turn out to be a lucrative career for the pupil if he or she portrays interest in it. For example, a kid with an affinity for literature should be encouraged to take up courses that will help him or her excel in that field. It is often the choice of the parents which they force upon their kids to take up careers that are in trend in the current scenario. What they fail to understand is that it is the kid who can be the difference between a lucrative career and a vapid career. If a kid with an affinity for history is made to pursue a engineering career. He or she is bound to fail or perform poorly at his or her tasks. On the contrary, if the kid does become an archaeologist, it could very well turn out to be a lucrative career for the child.

Moreover, the world we live in everchanging due to the progress being made in every domain be it science, mathematics, literature and all the other sub-fields that come under these various domains. It is a daunting task to accurately predict whether a career in the current scenario will stay lucrative ten years down the line. During the 1960's and 1970's when the nuclear race between nations was heating up. A nuclear physicist was a lucrative career due to the sheer demand of such indviduals back then. Sadly, owing to the criticism faced by nuclear power as well as the ill-effects faced by people working in this domain due to job hazards, it is fair to say that a job in the nuclear domain is by no means lucrative choice currently. Therefore, picking a career choice just because it will lead to a lucrative career is a wrong thought process since no one can categorically outline the sustainability of a particular career, ten years down the line.

On the flip side, people can argue that a kid should not be allowed to take decisions on their career since they are still immature to do so and have no clear idea about the job market around them. I would partially agree with such a thought. But if the child's area of interest is not taken into consideration while he or she decides their career track, it could be detrimental for the child in the long run. Counselors can be arranged in colleges that can make the student understand the pro's and cons's of each career track and then let the student decide the way ahead. It should be taken care that the counselors do not impart prejudiced information which can cloud the thinking of a kid.

In sum, I would still disagree with the statement that educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers. Rather, it should be the kid's decision to choose a career track which interest's and suit's them the best.