The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Teaching as a profession is one of the most challenging tasks that a person can ever take up. Ensuring decorum in the class, as well as picking the right approach to impart knowledge to students is a tricky job. The best way to teach is to praise the positive actions and ignore the negative ones. I disagree with this statement on the grounds that, a child cannot thoroughly know what is wrong until he or she is informed about it. The reasoning behind my position will be explained in brief in the paragraphs below.

Science as a domain has always shed light upon positive actions that have led to significant discoveries which have changed the way people think. The way science is taught in educational institutions is by praising the methods and actions that the inventors have undertaken to come up with a discovery. Therefore, it instills a false thought in the minds of students that positive actions will only lead to notable discoveries. This is not the case, great personalities like Galileo Galilee had to refute the widely held notion that Earth was at the center of the universe, such opposition paved the way for his later theory that proved that the Sun was at the center of the universe and not Earth. This clearly indicates that science is primarily based upon questioning widely held beliefs, even if it is considered a negative action, because such an opposition tends to pave the way for a magnanimous discovery.

Moreover, if a student wants to practice law as a profession, it is practically not viable to praise or throw light upon the positive aspects of law. For example, if law as a subject explains only about the positive reasons for the convict to commit such a crime, every individual would be exonerated and this is not why law and order has come into existence. The main structure of law and order is based upon finding possible fallacies and negative reasoning behind committing a crime. A lawyer who is taught to reason out positive instances behind a crime would fail to comprehend a possible heinous crime. Therefore, as far as law is concerned, praising positive actions would not help in the overall development of a law practitioner.

Proponents of the above claim would state that negative actions may instigate a child to perform illegal actions that can lead to an increase in child delinquency. I agree with such a claim but that statement is too aggressive to state that negative actions should be ignored entirely. As a middle ground, it would be ideal if the negative actions are mentioned to students and the ramifications of such actions be informed so that they do not indulge in such malpractices. Negative actions can form the base to teach students, the merits of inculcating positive actions.

In sum, I am still against the statement that the best way to teach is to praise the positive actions and ignore the negative ones. Such a course of action in my opinion inhibits the overall development of a child. Positive and negative actions are two sides of the same coin and hence, keeping students informed of both the sides help them better reason out situations that they may encounter in the future.