A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguer of the above given prompt predicts that the new Captain Seafood restaurant, that specializes in seafood, will be a popular and a profitable venture in Bay City. The arguer has backed such a prediction with the help of a few evidences that he has mentioned in the above prompt. The evidences provided seem convincing when we glance through them for the first time, but a closer look might unearth a few possible fallacies in these evidences that might undermine the arguer's prediction.

Firstly the arguer states that there has been a thirty-percent increase in the consumption of seafood at Bay City restaurants. Thirty-percent is a dubious stat because thrity-percent can signify an increase by a hundred dishes or an increase by a million dishes. If it is the latter, then the arguer's prediction holds substance, but if it is the former, it does not provide much support to the arguer's prediciton. An increase in consumption by just a hundred dishes does not necessarily warrant that the new seafood restaurant, opening in Bay City will be a successful and a profitable venture. It might even be the case that the restaurant is facing losses as a result of the arguer's dubious stats. Until an absolute value is provided, the resturant's success would be questionable.

Secondly, the arguer states that the people of Bay City are more concerned about healthful eating, as a result they will approach the new Captain Seafood restaurant for eating healthy food. The arguer further bolsters his evidence by citing a nationwide study which states that majority of families in Bay City eat significantly fewer home cooked meals. As a result, the restaurant will certainly be a success. The arguer contradicts his own prediction by stating that people of Bay City have a penchant for healthful eating. If this is the case, the citizens of Bay City might not prefer going to a new restaurant since they will not be aware of the way, the food is cooked at Captain Seafood. On the contrary, they will visit the restaurants, whose style of cooking they are accustomed to. This would mean the new seafood restaurant might possibly be a popular establishment.

Lastly, the arguer provides evidence that Bay City has currently no restaurants that specialize in seafood and hence, this new restaurant will have no potential competitors and it will perform well and attract customers. Such an opinion, held by the author seems true, but the author fails to consider this contradicting possibility. What if there are no restaurants in Bay City that solely specialize in seafood because the citizens do not prefer such restaurants? It could be possible that the citizens of Bay City prefer a restaurant which provides sea food apart from various other cuisines. Such a situation could undermine the arguer's prediciton regarding Captain Seafood's success.

In sum, the arguer has provided dubious and erroneous evidences that point towards a myriad possibilities regarding the restaurant's success. Hence, it cannot be categorically stated if opening a restaurant in Bay City, specializing solely in seafood, would be a successful and a profitable venture.