A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Health experts are predicting a decline in the number of headache cases reported by the residents of Mentia. They have based this prediction on a twenty-year old study which hints that a chemical named salicylates is known for reducing the intensity of headache. The health experts claim that the recent discovery, made by food-processing companies involves adding salicylates as flavor additives. Therefore, the residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches. The prediction as well as the evidences seem compelling at first. But a closer look could unearth unwarranted assumptions and possibilities that could undermine the prediction, made by the health-experts.

Firstly, salicylates are known to be found naturally in many food items, as well as used as preservatives by food-processing companies. The arguer states that adding salicylates as a flavor additive will have a postie effect on the people of Mentia who consume it. How can the arguer be sure about that? Since it is mentioned in the above prompt that the discovery was made after the study was concluded. How can the arguer be sure that the amount of salicylates present naturally in food or present in preservatives is comparable to flavor additives? It can be possible that the amount of salicylates in flavor additives is way less that what is found naturally in fruits or in food-preservatives. It could mean that the presence of salicylates in flavor-additives does not have any effect on the headache suffered by the citizens of Mentia. This could mean that the prediction made by the health expert would be wrong.

Secondly, the arguer suggests that over the twenty-years of study, the decline in headache had a correlation with the commercial use of salicylates. That is with the increase in salicylates as food-preservatives, the number of cases of headache declined. The question arises that how can the arguer compare the increase in commercial use of salicylates with the decrease in people suffering from headache? It could be possible that such a trend coincides with a new drug that proved to be a success in reducing the headache suffered by people. This could mean that attributing the decline in headache suffered by the citizens of Mentia to salicylates is a fallacious claim. And therefore, it could undermine the arguer's prediction.

Lastly, the use of salicylates as additive flavors was recently discovered by the food-processing companies. The arguer states that this will reduce the number of people suffering from headache further. But the arguer fails to consider one main aspect. Is the use of salicylates as a flavor additive, commissioned by the higher authorities of Mentia. If this new discovery has detrimental effects as a result of using it as flavor additives. The arguer's prediction will never come to frutation since the use of salicylates would be banned.

In sum, the evidences provided by the arguer of the above prompt fails to consider other alternate possibilities as a result of the evidences provided. Therefore, it undermines the prediction that is made in the prompt above. And it cannot be categorically claimed if the prediction made by the arguer, will be a successful one.