The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

" In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based on are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answer to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author suggests a policy to allay the unemployment problem by inviting Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. However, the argument is rife with holes and the author has to answer questions below.

The author claims that building car manufacturing plants could reduce unemployment rate, still, do they really hire local residents as workers? This could be true if the local residents are abundant in automobile experts and they could join the plant to make contribution right away. However, if the car manufacturing business can’t find the experts locally, they would go to recruit from outside or from other states, then it is not going to improve or reduce unemployment rate at all. The writer has to answer the hiring strategy of the company and the specialty of local residents to make the argument more cogent and let us know how much the city will benefit.

Even if the company do hire the local people as major part of its labor composition, followed by another question, how many people is the company going to hire? Maybe the car plant is going to recruit 10,000 labors locally and it will reduce the unemployment rate from 10% to 2%, then conceivably it does reduce the unemployment rate considerably as well as an impetus for boosting local economy. Nevertheless, what if the business just wants 10 people for the whole plant because almost of the manufacturing process has been replaced with automation and robots. They just need few people to supervise the machine flow on the track and that’s not going to ameliorate the unemployment rate at all. Thus, the writer needs answering questions to strength the claim.

Additionally, the another crucial question is why did the computer software company abandon the site last year? Would that be the same reason for the car plant to fail again? This would be the most critical since the car business could have the same problem that the software business faced last year. It couldn’t be an issue if the software company fails just because they couldn’t find the experienced programmers locally, so they desert the place and moved to another city where many programmers live in. Still, the car manufacturing enterprise could encounter the same problem as software one is that Hillview city located in rural area with low populated has not many residents with wanted specialties, because most of them are farmers, Thus, the automobile enterprise is going to fail again conceivably.

In conclusion, the author has to answer questions mentioned above to make the argument more convincing.