Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Arguments are the fundamental part of a discussion which can determine if a discussion is conclusive. People, since the beginning of civilization, have been arguing and discussing over a range of topics trying to convince one another of their viewpoint. The person who can convince the other with their views can force their opinion on others. The claim suggests that if we can persuade someone with a contradictory view than ours, then the argument holds water. I mostly agree with this claim for three reasons as explained below.

To begin with, we can analyze an argument to its fullest extent only if we are aware of its veracity and all its fallacity. And, to realize where the argument fails, defending the argument against a person with contradictory beliefs is good. For example, say, the ruling party tries to promulgate new laws in the country but, the opposition speaks against it saying that it doesn’t hold water. This awares the first party about the deficiencies in their point and encourages them to restrengthen their argument. As we correct the fallacies of an argument, we can be more sure that it is more verified. So, forcing to defend an idea against doubts can be fruitful.

Similarly, just because an idea is unchallenged doesn’t ascertain that it is a correct view. In many cases, the support can be from people who are biased to favor a view or even, blind supporters of an idea. For example, let us consider that the CEO of a company wants to apply new policies to the company without much deliberation, which can have negative implications to the business of the company. If the board members are biased or sycophants, then such a partisan board will likely favor such a decision without a second thought, for the sole purpose of gaining favors from the CEO. If there were a critical thinker on the Board members, who could suggest the negative impacts of the decision, then the CEO could amend the policy for the betterment of the company. However, it doesn’t seem to be the case here, and the company would face harsh business fall. This further strengthens the claim that contradictory viewpoints are needed to prove an argument.

However, it is not necessary that competing an idea against a contradictory viewpoint is the sole method to assert an argument. Many arguments, particularly scientific, can be maintained with scientific research and experiments. In such a case, continuous experimentation leads to a better understanding of the argument and it might even exhibit possible fallibilities in the argument. Hence, a contradictory view might not be needed in all cases but it does help in further development of an argument.

In conclusion, an argument is only effective if it can persuade even the people who are against it. The argument might shore up from naive supporters or partisans but it doesn’t mean that it is a good argument. Similarly, it might not be necessary that an argument must be proved against contradictions.