"While some leaders in government, sports, industry, and other areas attribute their success to

a well-developed sense of competition, a society can better prepare its young people for

leadership by instilling in them a sense of cooperation."

what makes a good leader? is it being competitive or being cooperative? our society today has taken a good stance in raising the young generation upon being cooperative rather than being competitive. however, competition breeds lots of innovative ideas that have transformed the world positively. Hence, the best way for a society to prepare its young generation is by instilling in them a sense of competition rather than cooperation.

First and foremost, considering the case of a teacher who teaches various classes of students. This teacher noticed that in the classroom, the students' performances were not up to par compared his tutorials, then he noticed that these students were not challenged. The low-graders felt comfortable with their position while the top-fliers felt no one could take their positions. These students obviously are better than one another academically but the teacher then devised a methodology of instilling the sense of competition in these students, they tend to perform better in their examinations and the tasks assigned to each of the students. With these, each students were able to unleash their potentials and perform better.

Secondly, in the science fields, various kinds of laws and theories have surfaced over the years owing to the fact that there had been scientific competitions where scientists showcase their researches as well as disprove or affirm the existing theories and researches. This has yielded many scientific developments and laudable feats which had benefitted the whole world. For example, the laws of motion that were propounded by Sir Isaac Newton donkey years ago. These laws have undergone several transformations through competition between scientists that lived during that time and has benefitted the whole world.

Lastly, from the words of an Arabic poet "Generations that are raised upon competition would be more successful than those that were not raised upon competition". This was evident in the various technology competitions that have surfaced recently. The annual shell eco-marathon race for example, brings together students from various parts of the world that presents their patents which proves that either diesel, petrol, kerosene or gas is better for powering automobiles within our fast paced car industry. This event has transformed and resulted into laudable ideas which has helped in ensuring a safe environment for all and sundry.

Ultimately, it is evident that a society that breeds its youthful generations for leadership through instilling in them the sense of competition rather than cooperation is better than that which instill a sense of cooperation. The case of the teacher and his students which the former helped the latter to unleash their hidden talents and other examples further reiterate my stance.