Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples

It is the dream of most parents to see their wards prosper and this has been proven in different ways and ensuring their wards are independent is inclusive. Personally, I prefer independent young adults to those that are solely dependent on their parents as well as living with them for a longer period. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, as adulthood sets in, one needs to be independent. This is true, because in life, one is faced by one challenge or the other which one has to make several decisions solely; thus, young adults should be handed their independence by their parents. Moreover, independency gives every adult in our society today a sense of responsibility since their a widely held belief that adults that lives in their parents’ houses are somewhat irresponsible. So, as an adult, one is expected to have started a family, fend for them as well as contribute towards the development of one’s immediate society. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. I could remember, while I was in college, I lived on campus, in fact I lived in a single apartment where I do all the cooking, cleaning amongst other chores myself. During these periods, I had to work to save for some college expenses not totally depending on my parents’ contribution towards my education. This actually makes me feel like I am responsible for every thing that happens to me.

Furthermore, the young adults need create their own paths towards success in their endeavours. Though families play a vital role in ensuring the success of all its members, thereby accommodating its members under the same roof, but an adult that strive on his or her own to carve out an empire or rent an apartment is held at a higher esteem when compared with one that depends solely on the family for accommodation. For instance, as soon as my brother, Hammed graduated from University, he continued living with us and my dad being a someone that is irascible, frustrates him every day because he could not get a job. He was always upbraiding him instead of admonishing him. At the long run, Hammed got a job with a card printing company where he works from morning till evening on weekdays and sometimes on weekends too. After a while he saw the need for independency, and had to rent an apartment close to his place of work. There he was able to break from my dad’s incessant pestering and now he has his independence, he could take certain decisions with little or no input from the family and as such transformed his life positively.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that young adults should be handed their independence as soon as possible. This would afford them the opportunity to solely face life challenges, make decisions on their own as well as create their own paths towards success in all their endeavours.