The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well.

The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes here that the research carried out by Dr Field 20 years ago about child-rearing tradition on the Island of Tersia as well as the observation-centred approach used to be invalid due to the conclusion of his recent research. To justify this argument, the author use of the interview-centred approach to carry out the same study invalidates Dr Field’s previous works. However, scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily claims that the author also points out that observation-centred methodology of researching the traditions of child-rearing is invalid due to the intent of the author’s interview-centred approach. This argument is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between his research and Dr Field’s. Furthermore, for a previous research method to be disproved by more recent ones, there should be a more detailed explanation for its rebuttal. If this argument had provided facts and figures about previous research works that used the same research methods, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Secondly, the argument readily assumes that the children spending so much time talking about their parents show that they reared them. This is merely an assumption made without solid ground. For example, how would one readily speak volumes about one’s parents if not asked? Hence the argument would have been much convincing if it explicitly stated that the kinds of conversations Dr Field had with the children on Tersia Island 20 years ago.

Finally, the author cites that he is currently working with a team researching the traditions of child-rearing in Tersia and other Islands with his interview-centred method thereby not stating whether Dr Field carried out his observations solely or not. However, scrutiny of the evidence provides little credence to the author’s conclusion in several critical respects and raises several skeptical questions. For example, did Dr Field work with any team of researchers or students? Are there records of researches that used the observation-centred approach and still relevant? Did Dr Field have access to the same kinds of research tools and materials the author used? Is the rebuttal of research enough to invalidate a research method? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claim made by the author is more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of the reasons behind invalidating the observation-centred approach. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about invalidating a research method due to the rebuttal of a researcher’s work.