The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which

adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how

these examples shape your position

What makes a good teacher and a good student? Is it the modality of the teaching or the receptance of the teaching? Many people today hold on to the fact that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and thus ignoring totally the negative ones. While only praising the positive actions seems a good way to teach, one shouldn’t totally ignore the negative actions of the students.

Those who are of the opinion that praising only the positive actions is the best way to teach and thus ignoring the negative actions are not completely right. Considering the case of a teacher with several classes of students in his class; amongst them are the brilliant ones and weak ones. At the end of their daily exercise, the teacher calls out the names of the students that performed excellently out in from of the class, thereby ignoring those students that performed woefully. That way, such weak students would feel estranged and the top fliers or the praised would feel greater than the weak students thereby creating series of chaos within the study environment.

Furthermore, the weak students would cease striving to be better in their academics due to the kind of environment that have been created by their teacher. The teacher in this case centres his attention on the hardworking students and abandoning the weak students forgetting that the striving weak students of today would turn out to be top fliers tomorrow.

Now considering the fact that the best way to teach is to praise the positive actions and not ignoring the negative actions. Considering the case of a manager in a firm with several workers under his tutelage, these sets of workers are meant to undergo some certain numbers of training so as to be fit to work in some designated sections within the company. Whenever the manager teaches these workers, he takes only into consideration, the positive actions of the workers towards his pedagogy and outrightly ignores their negative actions. For instance, in the workshop, there are some outlined safety rules, everyone needs to adhere to, but due to negligence on the parts of the new workers, they override some of these rules. Though, the manager was aware of these acts, he totally ignores it and continues with his teachings while knowing that the consequences of these malpractices would deface the company, yet he turned blind eyes and deaf ears to its every pointer.

A second instance is culled from the famous quotation “spare the rod and spoil the child”. This means that to effectively train one’s child, one shouldn’t overlook his misdeeds. Every child while growing up mixes with different sets of people at home, in school, playgrounds, etcetera. These people influence the child both positively and negatively, and the child’s parent being his guardian angel observes these acts tries to correct the child’s misdeeds and thereby praises him for his good deeds. This way the child would grow up as one that is of good character due to the fact that the child’s positive actions were celebrated and he was upbraided for his negative acts.

Ultimately, after considering both sides of the issues, it must be concluded that Praising the positive actions and not ignoring the negative actions is surely the effective and the best way to teach. This is evident in the case of the teacher and his brilliant and weak students where he celebrates only the brilliant students for the acts towards their academics and abandoning the weak students and in turn creating chaos amongst the students. Also, the case of the manager of a company with workers under his tutelage and the child under the watch of his parents; the former praises the workers for adhering the safety rules and did not upbraid them for overriding the other rules while the latter was praised for his good deeds and upbraided for his misdeeds. These examples further reiterate the fact that the best way to teach is to praise the positive actions and not ignore the negative actions.