Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to minimize costs and thus maximize profits

it might seem reasonable to conclude that olympic food will maximize profits since they have been for 25 years, according to the reasons that the authors gave. however, there are three assumptions that the author made that we should examine to accept the authors' claim.

First, the author assumes that just as time goes by, organization learn how to do things better and it will lead to more efficient processing of companies. however, if a company is in a field that already reached maximizing of efficiency, progressing of time doesn't change any things, which means we have to see how advance the processing of the company is to determine if it will become more efficient in the future. For example, cost of making calculator doesn't go down because it already reached its maximum efficiency of processing in the past. if olympic foods processing was already advanced enough that more improvements are almost impossible, this cannot support the author's claim.

Secondly, the writer insinuated that the changes of color film processing has not changed by comparing only costs. there could have been decreased in qualities of color film, or the industry might have found different ingredients or methods that significantly decreased the costs, not necessarily because of passing of time, which means color flim processing cannot be compared to the food company. So, if it is the case, the author’s opinion becomes weaker.

Lastly, minimizing of costs does not automatically increase profits. To maximize profits, the company has to decrease not only cost of processing, but also lowering of monthly payment of sustaining offices, monthly wages to employer. And if there was an expenditure for advertising, due to competition between companies, but the amount of they sold didn't increase, profits might have decreased. Therefore we need to check if there were not any other expenditures or changes.

In conclusion, to support the author's claim stronger, we need evidence that how advance olympic food company's process was in the past, whether film processing can be compared to the food company, and if there weren’t any increase in other costs.