To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the statement, it says that to understand a society deeply, one should analyze what characteristics its major cities have. I agree with this opinion.

First of all, we have to think what decide the most important characteristics of a society. One of these is definitely how people interact with each other. major cities have a large population, which means there are lots of people who will communicate with others. The characteristics of society are developed by people's interaction, not by a sole human. For example, in a small town where there aren't many people living, studying the town will only show that it is a quiet place. In contrast, if you research its major cities, you would be able to find how people respond to acquaintence, strangers and friends etc, for instance, either friendly or indifferently, which will show the most important characteristics of a society.

Furthermore, small cities are mostly similar. what makes society different is a major city where politicians, lots of people live, not small towns which are not different from society to society. This is apparent when we read various articles related to history. Historically, when we distinguish countries to countries, we think the differences between the cities where a king and a queen lived, which mostly was the major city.

In conclusion, to find what makes each society different from others could be achieved by studying a city which have large populations, who can build a society's own uniquness.