Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Many people think that ancient Greek had an ideal politics system. however, when we look at the society now, it is also far from the ideal, in that it didn't allow women to have the same rights as men did. In this sense, what we thought to be the ideal wasn't an ideal, which means humans never have found ideals. Some can insist that politicians still need to pursue making ideally happy society, even though we haven't succeeded in doing that at all, which I don't agree. I think politicians should put their effort to draw common ground and reasonable consensus from citizens, instead of relentlessly chasing unreachable goals.

Politic is not only about making society better, but also making society avoid the worst options within a certain amount of time. if politicians have an endless amount of time, they might be able to find the ideals. however, there are always limits in time. that is why they have to suggest reasonable solutions to help people who want different things which usually lead to the opposite agree. if politicians try to realize ideals, the politicians must find a way to satisfy people who have opinions that contradict each others'. And we don't know how long it will take and we don't know if there is an existing ideal. that is why politicians should become the ones who mediate people.