leadership..it is a born-gift; people cannot learn to be a leader

When people see politicians, CEO or any people who have leadership, many people assume that they were born as leaders. I thought just like the majority of people, and I didn’t try to become a leader in any situation because it was not something for me. However, after spending many years in my university, I found that by practicing and with confidence people can become leaders just as people who seem like to have natural talent to become leaders.

I think practicing is important regarding growing leadership. Being a leader also takes practice just as practice to become a nice singer. When I was sophomore, I became a team leader of dance club of my university. I hated that position because I thought that I will never become a leader because I don’t have charisma. However, I couldn’t abandon the spot because people were expecting me to be the team leader. It took a while to manage my group well, but as time went by, I was surprised that people like me, who are shy most of the time, can have a leadership, which has a different form than outgoing people and it was by giving my teammates more caring. Through my experience, I learned that even if I cannot have a leadership as politicians who are amazing at making speech in front of thousands of people, I can shape my own leadership that fits my personality.

Secondly, there is a saying that ‘fake it, till make it’. One researcher of Harvard had a research about why female students in her MBA class were less charismatic with less leadership. And she had counseling with those students who had hard time having leadership, which is important for MBA students. Surprisingly, she found that believing that you can do something changes people’s behavior. The professor found that after her students started faking charisma or anything that is related to leadership, they made it through the MBA program amazingly just as students who had leadership from the beginning. This episode teaches us that believing that you can be a leader gives you a leadership.

In conclusion, because of my personal experience, I think that leadership is something that we have to practice to find your own way to be a leader. In addition, based on the research, believing that you can be a leader give a an ability to become a leader.