Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Laws and legal system may seem only related to criminals. However, I am disagreeing with this claim because laws and legal system affect normal people's daily lives and also what society sees as right or wrong.

First of all, changes in laws change people's lives significantly, because laws are not all about how to punish crimes, but also about how to protect citizens in a nation. For example, before same-sex marriage became legal, many people thought it is strange to accept the marriage but now after the law was passed, many people started to think that two people who love each other should have a right to get married. Some who are agreeing with the claim might say that it doesn't mean that people's hearts or minds change but those people just learn how to hide it. But, learning that someone has to hide discriminations being afraid of punishments by laws, also mean that those people have changed to hide their feeling.

Secondly, laws imply what a society sees as a crime, which affects a lot of people's behaviors. For example, in the past, in South Korea, rape wasn't punished at all when a man, who raped a woman chose to marry the victim. At the time, rape wasn't a crime at all. people might have had hard time understanding why it had to be punished, when the beginning of the law enforcement. However now, people all agree that it is a serious crime because of the legislation of the law, which shows that laws can change people’s mind and hearts even though it takes a long time.

In conclusion, changes in legal system and laws have changed people’s lives, in that it shaped what a society agree to punish or not punish and what a society allows its citizen to do or not.