Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduated from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.’

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument contends that Omega University should terminate the policy of students' evaluation of professors in order for its students to get better jobs. To support this recommendation, the author states a number of reasons: higher grades of students, an overall 30% rise in grades compared to earlier, potential employers' belief that the grades do not accurately reflect student achievement because of the said policy, and comparison with Alpha University whose students are getting better jobs because it does not have any such policy. Stated in this way, the argument is based on a number of assumptions, and unsubstantiated claims that are crucial to evaluate the merits of the proposed solution.

First, the author claims that professors of Omega University have started giving higher grades to students since the time the policy under question is adopted. Without any evidence to support this claim, the author fails to consider the possible positive effects of the policy. Perhaps, professors are actually making significant efforts to impart the best possible knowledge to their students with innovative techniques. It is entirely possible that it is the increased efforts of the professors to get good evaluation from the students, that led to increased grades for students.

Second, the claim of potential employers' belief that these grades are inflated, and students' achievements are not accurately reflecting what they know, is unwarranted unless the author provides any evidence showing that these employers are actually aware of the said policy. Even if it is true that professors are purposefully assigning higher grades to their students, how do we know that the employers are aware of this policy, or its side effects? If this is not the case, it would not furnish a good reason to believe that this policy is the reason behind students' low performance at getting good jobs.

Third, Is it not possible that there are some other factors, perhaps lack of practical knowledge that is responsible for students not getting good jobs? Maybe the policy is working as intended, that is to improve professors' performance. However, the learning could be based on a theoretical approach with complete negligence toward field knowledge. If true, students' unsatisfactory performance at placements possibly has nothing to do with the policy under question.

Lastly, the author makes an unwarranted comparison with Alpha University whose students' are getting better jobs compared to Omega's students. A lot of factors include but are not limited to, students' passion for their field of study, how bright they are - intellectual ability to grasp new things, research vs theory oriented approach that must be the same in both universities, and university's reputation amongst the employers, etc. may be the reason for better performance of Alpha University.

In the view of the above, the absence of evidence for a number of assumptions that are critical to evaluate the argument makes the argument flawed, and therefore unconvincing. To further bolster the argument, the author must provide enough details regarding awareness of the said policy among the potential employers, evidence suggesting that higher grades are actually inflated, and evidence that all the factors that may affect students' performance for getting good jobs are more or less same for both the universities for accurate comparison.